Sociology Department Hood Scholars

The Hood Scholar is nominated by the Sociology faculty on the basis of outstanding academic achievement and community service as a nominee to be invested with the hood on behalf of the department at the University Commencement.


The following were nominated to represent the College of Health and Social Sciences:

  •  2015: Nourredine Chtaini,  College Representative
  • 2014: Richard Cockrell, College Representative

  • 2013: Aracely Diaz, Department Nominee

  • 2012  Marilyn L. Bunag, College Representative           


The following were nominated to represent the former, College of Behavioral & Social Sciences.


  • 2010: Haruki Eda, College Representative

  • 2009: Susan Marie Estrada, College Representative

  • 2008: Divina Milan Fontanilla, Department Nominee

  • 2007: Danny Alexander Casillas, Department Nominee

  • 2006: Valerie A. Francisco, College Representative